Review: Visual Café 4 Enterprise Edition

Discussions

News: Review: Visual Café 4 Enterprise Edition

1. As a product from Symantec Visual Café was for years one of the best Java development environments. Now it's in the fold of WebGain, Inc., and that's turning out to be a good thing, because Visual Café has become more accurately aimed at enterprise level, the Web and intranet applications.

Read Review: Visual Café 4 Enterprise Edition.
  2. "As a product from Symantec Visual Café was for years one of the best Java development environments. "

This statement alone was enough to stop reading the article...
  3. I have been using Visual Cafe standard edition for the last 4 months. Client's choice. I like Visual Age for Java.

I can safely say, given my experience with the standard version, that it is one of the worst IDEs I have ever used.

It can't auto-complete anything that isn't inside it's project or part of the standard Java API. For instance, if I add weblogicaux.jar to my CLASSPATH inside the JVM (Lets skip the fact that I have to restart the IDE for that change to be picked up!) then I have access to the javax.ejb pacakges. But, since VC doesn't see the code in my project, it will NOT auto-complete for me. Now I've looked everywhere for some option I need to turn on and I can't find it.

Basically, if enterprise edition is anything like standard then I would steer well clear of this product range!

Of course, this is just my opinion. IDEs usually lead to debates of a religious nature! :-)

Chz

Tony