Discussions

EJB design: Concurrent Access in EJB

1. Concurrent Access in EJB (3 messages)

I'm fairly new to EJB programming and I came across a roadblock in understanding concurrent access.

I understand that a web page is stateless and that EJB can be stateless or stateful (sessionBean).

What happen if I have two users accessing the same product page over the web and want to modify it. Here is what I think will happen:
    1- The two users should see the same product information
    2- User1 makes a modification and submit his changes. His changes are processed inside a transaction and commit successfully. User 2 hasn't started a transaction yet.
    3- User2 makes a modifcation (he should see product information prior to user1's changes) and submit his changes. His changes are processed inside a transaction and commit successfully but it wipes the changes from user1.

In the example, entityBean are beanManaged.

To overcome this problem, I started thinking about a version mechanism.

If you have any idea on this please reply

Threaded Messages (3)

2. Concurrent Access in EJB[ Go to top ]

Hi
    The query athat you have asked can occur ian all sort of application including the client server application.

Let us take a simple case which we are all familiar with.

The Flight reservation System. Assume that for a flight only two tickets are available andd ten people are trying to get a ticket for that flight from 10 different places.

Assume that the sytem is not well designed. What happened will all the 10 people will get a postive reply that seat is available. (Assuming that they are requesting at the same time). Two lucky people will get the ticket and for the others at the time of processing the System will throw the Error or inform that Tickets are not available.