SOAP--- need clarification

Discussions

XML & Web services: SOAP--- need clarification

1. SOAP--- need clarification (6 messages)

I am new to soap technology and while reading an article on it , i am confused that Is there some SOAP Engine required to execute my remote business methods?

What I understand is that there is client who send some request to some remote business method , that business method executed (Confused where it is executed...need some SOAP engine or anything extra) and then response sent to client.

So if anybody can clarify me this point.If some sought of engine is required could you tell me regarding it.

Secondly , what's use of SOAP Technology when i can call method using CORBA Client.

Thanks

soodsomal@yahoo.com

Threaded Messages (6)

2. SOAP--- need clarification[ Go to top ]

That is a conspiracy by the vested interests who want you to wash your hands off CORBA etc and use their technology asap:)
  3. SOAP--- need clarification[ Go to top ]

U need SOAP engine to execute SOAP requests on the server side ... You can get one from http://xml.apache.org/soap/

The advantage of SOAP is u can talk to SOAP server over HTTP, HTTPS protocols. It uses XML for its communication between client and the server. Read the documentation thats available with the SOAP installation from Apache SOAP.
  4. The advanatages are:

The communication between Client and the server uses XML.
    XML being the plain text, the overhead of data transfer over network is very less compared to binary data.

Since it uses HTTP protocol, the FireWall restrictions are not there.

If u use CORBA, the communication is through the serialaized stubs/skeletons, which is binary and more over head on the network, and too much of computation at botht the server and clinet (marshalling/demarshalling etc).
    CORBA uses a different port , aso firewall problems ...

5. SOAP--- need clarification[ Go to top ]

Hi,