Why use Entity Beans ?

Discussions

EJB design: Why use Entity Beans ?

1. Why use Entity Beans ? (7 messages)

Hi All,

What I understand is Entity Beans are a kind of wrapper on the relational database and present the data as objects. So in our code we will be dealing with these objects and not with database directly. But adding one more layer will certainly hamper the performance. So using the Entity Beans will also decrease the performance.

Instead of using the Entity beans we can use SQL from our Session Bean to access database directly (rather than going through a layer). And since allmost all the programmer have good knowledge of SQL it shouldn't be a problem. And this will be more efficient than enity beans.

Then why should we use Entity Beans ?

Thanks,
    Manas.

Threaded Messages (7)

2. Why use Entity Beans ?[ Go to top ]

Hi!
    I'm not a professional in EJB, but I hope I can anser the Question.
    We have made a project where we had to change the DB-System from Oracle to DB2. If you want to do this you nearly must use Entity-Beans. If you only write ANSI-SQL it shouldn't be a Problem but we all know that every DB-System is different. So if you want to change the DB-System you only have to make a new mapping and thats it(realy?).
    The aspect of the performance has to be handled differently. If you use the IBM Websphere you should reduce the Entity-Beans to the min. Bea's Weblogic can handle Entity-Beans much faster than IBM can, don't ask me why.

(a beginners anser) mfg Peda
  3. Why use Entity Beans ?[ Go to top ]

Manas,

Check out a few design patterns using Session Beans and JDBC -- one or two might be posted here at TheServerSide. Avoid entity bean usage, if possible. It really is unnecessary for most applications.

You can also check out the JDO (Java Data Objects) implementation at www.javasoft.com. JDO really is a much more seamless and sensical persistence framework than EJB.

Good luck!

-- Rick