An idea to handle Security and Flow of a JSP App.

Discussions

Web tier: servlets, JSP, Web frameworks: An idea to handle Security and Flow of a JSP App.

1. Hello all :)

I'd like to run a idea by you all. Firstly, YES, I'm new to this, so if this is a "stupid" idea, keep in mind I'm still learning and would like to hear your words of wisdom.

My idea is a way to control security and the flow of a JSP site. So, I thought that it would be a "good" idea to have the ONE central JSP file, say index.jsp and in this file have something like:

<jsp:useBean id="mySession" scope="session" class="myApp.bean.beanSession" />

<% if ( mySession.getLoggedIn() == false ) { %>
    <%@ include file="login.jsp" %>
    <% } else { %>

<% if ( mySession.getFlow() == 1 ) { %>
    <%@ include file="mainmenu.jsp" %>
    <% } %>
    <% if ( mySession.getFlow() == 2 ) { %>
    <%@ include file="submenu1.jsp" %>
    <% } %>

<% } %>

So, the idea is that this ONE jsp page is ALWAYS called. The security is checked EVERYTIME, but this shouldn't slow the program down, and that leaves the flow, which is controled by a Flow number. Each page is given a number and can be accessed by the method setFlow in the mySession bean.

So, what do you lot think? is this ok? I don't need something complicated and I thought this would be simple to implement?!?!

Thanks in advance for all your words of wisdom,

Eric.
  2. Eric,

The best way to handle this is to create a new JSP class. You can call it 'ProtectedJSP'. Make this ProtectedJSP class implement all of the security checking that you want.

You should also know that this 'ProtectedJSP' is not an actual JSP class. Rather, it is a class which extends the BaseJSP class of your container. See your container's documentation for details.

Then, for all of the JSPs you want to be protected, have them EXTEND your ProtectedJSP. By doing this, all of your JSPs will automatically inherit the functionality of the ProtectedJSP. Same thing goes for Servlets.