Discussions

General J2EE: Methodologies used on your projects

1. Methodologies used on your projects (7 messages)

I am preparing myself for managing a java projects (I have managed many client server projects already).

I am studying two methodologies right now:

The Rational Unified Process

and

Extreme Programming

I would greatly appreciate any input people can give me on these methodologies in practice. Are there are any others that people would recommend?

Thanks

Threaded Messages (7)

2. Methodologies used on your projects[ Go to top ]

This is my two cents worth. XP is OK for small projects with tight deadline. Although, I still have not been able to stomach the idea of dual programming and collective ownership.

As your project gets bigger and more complex, you might be leaning towards RUP. The reality is that projects don't tend to follow any particular methodology exacactly. They adopt whatever works from different methodologies.

Pranab
  3. XP is definitely not for everybody. I couldn't make a judgement about a "large project" which for me means more than 20 developers over more than 1 year. For as few as 10 developers, even over a longer timeframe, I have found XP to be far superior.

The metric I'm using to determine which is better is the stakeholder satisfaction, the quality of the code base over a long period of growth, the flow of information between the team members (in the case of XP, the team will include representatives from the client/stakeholders and any nontechnical domain experts who will be part of the evaluation of the final result).

If you're looking for an asscovering manouvre then XP is not for you. If you want reams of documents to choke down any attempts at fingering blame when dissatisfaction follows delivery, then I'd suggest RUP.