A criticism of Java Data Objects ( JDO)

Discussions

News: A criticism of Java Data Objects ( JDO)

1. A criticism of Java Data Objects ( JDO) (10 messages)

JDO has received a lot of attention since the 1.0 release, with both good publicity and a lot of bad publicity from many (particularly O/R tool vendors). Now Carl Rosenberger (head of the DB40 object persistence project) has jumped in on the bandwagon, and delivered a scathing criticism of the JDO spec.

He criticized the spec as being overly complex, a rehash of old ideas that never worked, and with no new fresh thinking put into it, calling for a complete rewrite
    of the whole spec.

I am no expert on transparent persistence but the guy seems to raise some interesting issues, and I would like to know what other people think about them.

You can read the whole article here
  2. Here We Go Again JDO[ Go to top ]

JDO Spec Lead Craig Russel responded to this post in another forum:
    -------------------------------------------------------
    As the author (not the inventor) of the JDO specification, I'd like to respond.

> A direct interface to store objects needs to be simpler than SQL, not more
    > complicated, otherwise it will never find it's place in the database world.
    > JDO is anything but simple and concise.

JDO concerns itself with two categories of class developers: those that develop persistence-capable classes and those that develop persistence-aware classes. It is well understood that developers who know they are developing for databases (persistence-aware) need to deal with some of the complexities of talking to databases: you have to know which database you are trying to connect to, which classes you are trying to query, etc. For these people, I won't claim that JDO is simple, but it is not more complex than the alternatives.