Session bean validation

Discussions

EJB design: Session bean validation

1. Session bean validation (12 messages)

Hi,

I'm pretty new to EJB so I hope someone can help me with this!

I have read a few articles that suggest using a session bean as a facade for accessing entity beans. However, I am unsure as to whether business logic validation should be done in the session bean or the entity bean?

I have a String field in an entity bean that must take one of a set of values that are stored in a database table. This may not always be the case though so I don't want to make the entity bean dependent on this table. If the validation is performed by the session bean, is there any way of preventing direct access to the entity bean by clients?

Thanks,

Adam

Threaded Messages (12)

2. Session bean validation[ Go to top ]

Adam,

The idea behind Facade is that the session bean does the validation for the reasons you state. On way to forbid access to the entity bean is through an Access Control List (check with your container vendor for specific implementations). Basically create an internal user and place an ACL on the bean. Then the session bean which is internal passes the internal credentials. This is much like Factory patterns in traditional programming via making the constructors package private.

Dave Wolf
    Internet Applications Division
    Sybase
  3. Session bean validation[ Go to top ]

Adam and Dave,

The issue of where to validate data is coming up far too often. Because we are using EJB does NOT mean we throw away the OO principle of data encapsulation.

By placing data validation in a SB rather than in the EB a number of things go wrong:

1) you have returned to procedural programming since now your EB is not a self-contained object.

2) thus no other SB can simply work with that Entity without having to go through the "controlling" SB, again OO is lost.