Using client processing power

Discussions

EJB design: Using client processing power

1. Using client processing power (4 messages)

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to EJB and I'm evaluating the possibility of migrating an existing client-server application to an EJB-based system. The client part of the application handle about 5 tree-like structures, two of them having between 4000 to 8000 components. The business validations are sometimes very complex and have to check informations across all hierarchies. The usual number of user on this system is between 4 to 20.

In the near future, we plan to add a module for managers and information viewer. This module will most of the time only display information in a browser window, and if there's input allowed, it will have more to do with project management than really "working" with the system. Then, there will be no hard and complex validations to do. I evaluate that the number of client for that module might go from 1 to several hundreds. This is where an EJB system seems to be a perfect fit.

However, we're looking also to integrate the usual client application with the EJBs. We also plan to add analysis modules to the client application (data mining, fuzzy logic decision-making modules, etc...) which will most probably do a lot of request on the database and will need quite processing power.

Also, We don't want to have a form-like app, where you enter info in all the field, press submit, get some errors message, press submit, get other errors message and so on until the submitted changes are ok and pass. *As much as possible*, we want the validations to occurs as soon as they are entered. That's the reason I was thinking about keeping a java-app client and not switching to a web-based client.