Creating Session Beans in Session Beans

Discussions

EJB programming & troubleshooting: Creating Session Beans in Session Beans

1. Creating Session Beans in Session Beans (6 messages)

Hi all,

I'm new to EJB's and was wondering if it is possible to create a session bean as a variable in another session bean, and if so how? It is for my final year project which is due in two weeks, so I'd really appreciate any help.

What I am trying to do is have a session bean, representing a Bank Clerk and another session bean which represents a Security manager. I want an instance of the security manager to be a variable in the Clerk Bean.

Like I said, I'd really appreciate any help.

Thanks,
    Michael
  2. Yes, the bean can look up the reference from JNDI just like any other client.

Just beware of what happens when the bean is passivated. In theory, the server should take of the reference for you, but it is generally better practise to release the reference in ejbPassivate() and restore it in ejbActivate().

Chz

Tony
  3. Hi Tony,
    Thanks for your reply. I've tried setting it up just like I would in a normal client.

I use the following code:

public Object getHome(String _name, Class _type){
            try{
                Object ref = jndiContext.lookup ("java:comp/env/ejb/" + _name);
                return PortableRemoteObject.narrow(ref,_type);
            }catch(NamingException ne){
                throw new EJBException(ne);
            }
        }

and then
       SecurityManagerHome home = (SecurityManagerHome)getHome("SecurityManagerHome",SecurityManagerHome.class);

try{
              SecurityManager sec = home.create();
            }catch(Exception e){
              e.printStackTrace();
            }

I keep getting the following error in my Jboss server when I deploy the Clerk bean:

java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: ca4/securebank/server/ejb/SecurityManager

even though it is deployed and the package is correct.

Any ideas please?