Does the EJB architecture actually adhere to a good OO model?

Discussions

EJB design: Does the EJB architecture actually adhere to a good OO model?

1. I'm only new to EJB, but I have been developing OO for 4+ years now. I have to say that I don't like the way that some of the session type classes don't actually model an object, rather they represent a process, YUCH!

In the end you have a bunch of classes which encapsulate business logic, this logic should, IMHO, be encapsulated in the object which they are related to.

Am I way of base in my EJB understanding?
  2. Unfortunately, no, you're not. Almost all of the patterns recommended by EJB experts (and on this site) to improve performance simply reduce your code to a procedural morass, destroying any benefits you might gain from OOP.

For example, take value objects. They <em>blatantly</em> violate encapsulation, but are necessary to get decent performance. The very thing that could make your EJB code OO, entity beans, perform very poorly.

The fact is that real websites need to perform. I'm not convinced you can build a website today that adheres to good object oriented principles and still has adequate performance. I don't think this is a fault of EJB per se, but of all our current options.

--Steven

3. you can read my response here

--
    Tinou
    www.tinou.com
  4. Tinou,

I agree with much of what you said in your response; it is indeed POSSIBLE to program EJBs in a very OO manner. You say:

"EJB does not prevent you from designing and implementing an OO based application."