Developing a J2EE base application without EJB nor J2EE server

Discussions

General J2EE: Developing a J2EE base application without EJB nor J2EE server

1. Hi all,

I'm new to Java and J2EE world, I would like to develop a
    J2EE based application without using EJB/J2EE server/Web/JSP.

This choice is made with the main constraint of cost, and the type of application and want to develop (no Internet/Intranet needs ...)

So I will use UML, Java/Swing/RMI for the client side, and Java/RMI/JDBC for the server, the database should be Oracle/Sybase/Mysql.

Is there anyone who have informations about this style of development, where I can find books. The difficulty is that all the books I have found always speak about EJBs.
  2. Francois
    Slight problem here. What you are asking is impossible. You can't develop a J2EE based application without an Application Server (J2EE Server is your description). J2EE = Container = App Server.

Why don't you just use a free appserver (JBOSS for example). You can then develop as you want i.e without EJB or JSP. However, I can't imagine why, having access to all the J2EE good stuff, you wouldn't want to use it though!

Maybe you should take a look at JINI. This is a way of writing networked applications without J2EE.
  3. Many thanks for this answer.

When I started thinking about my project, I thought it could be nice to use EJBs, but when I discovered the price of J2EE APP Servers (weblogic/websphere), I realized it could be too expensive for my customers (future customers !!!).

I was thinking of using Java/RMI/JDBC but don't know how to manage transactions (perhaps distributed transactions) for example.

I think reading your answer that JBoss can help me in this way, so I will read more about JBoss in the next weeks.

Do you have references of books on J2EE which are not EJB oriented ?