Discussions

Performance and scalability: app server benchmarking - pls help!

1. app server benchmarking - pls help! (3 messages)

I am a J2EE newbie, wondered if anyone could please help me get some things into perspective re: application server benchmarking? I'm a student researching this for a firm intending to upgrade to J2EE environment from an old Netscape app server version 4.

What is the purpose of benchmarking standards like ECperf and TPC-W... is it mainly for "benchmarketing" by the big vendors?

Are there benefits to implementing ECperf as the workload in a benchmark to aid purchasing decisions (as opposed to using our own J2EE application + a load injector)?

Does anyone have any general thoughts about key procedures/measurements/problems for benchmarking J2EE application servers? Any comments gratefully received!

Thanks in advance

Fran
  2. app server benchmarking - pls help![ Go to top ]

Hi Fran,

I think the purpose of benchmarking standards like ECperf is not solely for the vendors to show impressive numbers in their ads, but also for admins to see how effective their tuning attempts are, and to have compareable and reproducable results over a prolonged period of time.

The nice thing of standards is that they are objective in a way - they treat every contestant in the same manner. You may optimize for a benchmark, but as everyone does it, the procedure is very fair, because the benchmark is similar in every run. So if you really want an objective comparison, regardless of the usecase you may have finally in mind, you should use some standardize benchmark like ECperf.

On the other hand, if you have a very specialized app and know that this will be the only job the appserver will be doing, perhaps the results of the benchmark will not reflect the performance of your app...

Just my $0.02 :)

Lars
  3. app server benchmarking - pls help![ Go to top ]

Thanks Lars