Discussions

General J2EE: The Best J2EE Framework

1. The Best J2EE Framework (16 messages)

Hi!

I'd like to discuss here about what is the best FREE framework to develop J2EE applications.

I'm going to start a project using J2EE and I have thought this can be a good topic to discuss.

I hope your answers.

Thank you very much.

Threaded Messages (16)

2. The Best J2EE Framework[ Go to top ]

Sorry! I haven't given my personal opinion!

Well, I'm new in J2EE. I only take a look to Expresso Framework and I have to say that firstly I liked a lot but I was doing some examples and my opinion has changed.

I've also read something about Struts but I don't like very much.

I can't say any more because I don't try any framework else.
  3. The Best J2EE Framework[ Go to top ]

I would be curious to hear why you do not like Struts.

4. The Best J2EE Framework[ Go to top ]

Struts is great for small to medium size application. When the application gets big, especially when presentation logic gets complicated, it is really a big hassle to maintain the a big xml config file. Also a problem to maintain a big properties file for message used all over the application. Seems Struts added support for multiple resource files.

Ben
  5. The Best J2EE Framework[ Go to top ]

I think Struts is great for large applications as well. You just have to manage things carefully. We're about to implement a very large application using struts, and it's worked great for us.
  6. The Best J2EE Framework[ Go to top ]

I have seen this comment many times, the config file is hard to maintain, it is too big, etc. I think this stems from the fact that most folks using Struts build their own implementations following the example available out there. I don't think there are many, at least that I have seen, that use DispatchAction, for example, instead of the plain vanilla Action class.