Discussions

General J2EE: Newbie architecture question

1. Newbie architecture question (2 messages)

Hi guys. I'm fairly new to server side development, and wanted to ask a question about which technologies I should use for a simple scenario.

Basically, there is a web front end for browsing information from a number of different databases. One user request may result in accesses to multiple databases. Subsequent requests may result in updates to multiple databases. In the first instance, I could use transactions to ensure that all calls fail if a single one does, but in certain instances, it may not be fatal (e.g. if an update to the development DB fails.)

Firstly, do transactions have this kind of flexibility? And do I have to embrace full J2EE to use the transaction APIs, or can I wrap normal calls from a Servlet or a JSP in transaction blocks?

Secondly, what are the real world tradeoffs that are made when choosing between JSPs and Servlets? I know I can go and do some reading here, so feel free to ignore this question!

Thirdly, I hear a lot about messaging. What are the benefits of sending messages between servers rather than using RMI? The messaging stuff in a pure Java solution doesn't seem to bring any benefits.

Finally, any clues on load balancing? I guess the main servlet could allocate new incoming requests to another Servlet, but do we have to roll our own load balancing (maintaining a cookie->servlet mapping in the main servlet), or can we get it from free from an application server or library? Am I talking complete rubbish?!!!

Ugh. Any good reccomendations for these types of issues, or a good overview of how all of these APIs fit together and interact? These comparisons and architecture issues seem very difficult to research.

Thanks
    Ben

Threaded Messages (2)

2. Newbie architecture question[ Go to top ]