Webservices architecture - polymorphism??

Discussions

XML & Web services: Webservices architecture - polymorphism??

1. Webservices architecture - polymorphism?? (4 messages)

Hello,

I am fairly new to Web Services. I am working on developing a web service for exposing a rules engine to other business units in my organisation. My Java OO design for this rules engine defines method signatures that take high level interfaces as parameters and return high level interfaces as return values. clients can then cast those objects to whatever they asked for... Thus, the same method signature can mean many different things to clients - i.e. polymorphism. however, when i tried to generate a web service from this existing design, my wsdl generator (BEA weblogic to be specific) gave me errors saying that Objects that are to be serialized should be concrete implementations and not interfaces or abstract classes. this basically means that i will have to provide specific multiple web services for each different client. for every new client that i sign on, i will have to define new web services...

is this understanding correct? Or have I missed some important point somewhere?

-Eagle
  2. Web Services - Losing your OO[ Go to top ]

Web services were designed to be cross-boundary and cross-platform. You can implement a SOAP web service client in cobol or assembler or whatever language you wish as long as it can construct an XML representation and send it over a TCP socket. Your post states "clients can then cast those objects to whatever they asked for". Casting assumes language specific feature on the client. SOAP web services does not require such language features to be present in a Web Service consumer why such specific language features do not have meaning in SOAP.