EJB3 / Hibernate / Swing / JGoodies Design question...

Discussions

EJB design: EJB3 / Hibernate / Swing / JGoodies Design question...

1. Hi,

Forgive me if I screw up the terminology here.. I'm pretty new to J2EE and Swing development. I'm developing a Swing based application to replace a paper process. It's basically a long form that gets submitted to a server where it is reviewed and in some cases sent back to the user for corrections. I'm having trouble figuring out a good implementation for the data tier.

The prototype that I've developed makes extensive use of the JGoodies framework (Forms, Binding, Validation). The domain model is basically a bunch of POJO's. For each POJO there is a separate validator object which has a a validate() method that returns a ValidationResult object. On the Swing side, there is a Model object for each POJO/Validator which listens for changes to the result of validate(). The GUI class attaches to the model and updates the GUI to reflect results of the validation. Basically the result is that if you don't fill out a required field, the field's background color changes and you get a list of reasons why you aren't allowed to submit the form at the bottom of the page.

Pretty much all of this functionality rests upon the domain model calling 'firePropertyChange' in the setXYZ() functions. This solution seems to work when the client uses Hibernate to persist the objects directly to the DB Server, but I'm wondering if/how it could work if we decided to use EJB3 Entity Beans for storing the data instead of Hibernate (primarily because we don't want to leave our DB server's port open on the firewall).