Discussions

Web tier: servlets, JSP, Web frameworks: Is a big servlet ok?

1. Is a big servlet ok? (9 messages)

Hi all. Without giving much info about what my servlet actually does, I was wondering, is it normal to have a servlet that's 1000 lines (with a decent amount of commenting)? I've been doing some web development for quite a few months but don't really have anyone to ask these questions, and want to make sure I'm not doing crazy things that are unheard of.

Threaded Messages (9)

2. A big servlet is not ok, IMO[ Go to top ]

I'm thinking a big servlet is not so ok. (We have some big servlets where I work, and I think it's a bad move.)

You should get into (well-designed) POJOs as quickly as possible, imo, and the servlet should just be a thin wrapper, adapting your POJOs/business logic to the web interface.

If you want to re-use that logic outside of a web interface, what are you going to do? Instantiate the servlet object w/some fake ServletRequest/ServletResponse? Cut-n-paste the code?

This is a bit of a sort point w/me, as you might be able to tell. All this slick magazine article emphasis on "Model 2 Architecture" missed the point: do the logic first, put the interface on afterwards. Logic should exist in deep space, just a bunch of plain objects floating around. Later, you can access that logic from a servlet, with a small-enough piece of code to justify the "-let" suffix.

>:(

John.
  3. interesting[ Go to top ]

I like your response John. Let me explain slightly more now.

The servlet checks the session for some different variables. Basically, all the servlet does is query a database and gets rows of items. However, depending on what variables exist in the session, different queries have to be used. Also, depending on what variables are present, the queries have to be pieced together with a string buffer to run the correct query. The queries are quite large - many lines.