Tips From the Trenches

Discussions

Blogs: Tips From the Trenches

1. Tips From the Trenches (2 messages)

Though Tips from the Trenches by Matt Gullet is aimed at those of us that are alone in their development efforts, it contains a lot practical advice that works for those working in team environment. The article is divided into two sections, technical and non-technical aspects of Matt's job. Matt also describes what he has worked towards in his three years of going it alone. The list of non technical advice includes; * Set personal goals * Read, Read, Read * Come out of the closet * Meetings are not all bad, just mostly bad * After hours is off limits * Set reasonable expectations * I'm not a programmer, I'm an architect When setting a goal one must also set a dead line in which that goal should be reached
    One of the things I have learned about goals is that any real goal must have a deadline attached to it. You will notice that each of the goals I listed is singular in nature and has a set deadline