javax.rmi.PortableRemoteObject.narrow returning null

Discussions

EJB programming & troubleshooting: javax.rmi.PortableRemoteObject.narrow returning null

1. javax.rmi.PortableRemoteObject.narrow returning null (6 messages)

Hi, I am new to EJB and this is the first client I am trying. I wrote a "Hello world" SessionBean and deployed it into Sun Java System Application Server Platform Edition 9.0. The EJB module was deployed successfully (can see it on the console). Then I wrote a client to connect to the ejb component. Following is the client code package client; import java.util.*; import javax.naming.*; import java.rmi.*; import javax.rmi.*; import javax.ejb.*; import test.*; public class AdviceClient { /** Creates a new instance of AdviceClient */ public AdviceClient() { } public static void main(String[] args) { try { Properties p = new Properties(); p.put("java.naming.factory.initial", "com.sun.jndi.cosnaming.CNCtxFactory"); p.put("java.naming.provider.url", "iiop://127.0.0.1:3700"); Context ic = new InitialContext(p); Hashtable ht = ic.getEnvironment(); Iterator enu = ht.keySet().iterator(); while (enu.hasNext()) { System.out.println(enu.next()); } Object o = ic.lookup("ejb/AdviceBean"); if (o == null) { System.out.println("o is null"); } else { System.out.println("o is NOT null"); } AdviceRemoteHome home = (AdviceRemoteHome) javax.rmi.PortableRemoteObject.narrow( o, AdviceRemoteHome.class); //<--ISSUE HERE if (home == null) { System.out.println("home is null"); } else { System.out.println("home is NOT null"); } //AdviceRemoteBusiness advice = home.create(); //System.out.println("advice is " + advice.getAdvice()); } catch (ClassCastException e) { System.out.println("classcasteexception"); e.printStackTrace(); } catch (Exception e) { System.out.println("exception occured"); e.printStackTrace(); } } } The issue is when I call the narrow method, it returns a null object and there is no ClassCastException. I would like to know what could be wrong prompting a nul