Discussions

News: GWT in Action: TheServerSide Tech Brief

1. GWT in Action: TheServerSide Tech Brief (45 messages)

Robert Hanson, co-author of the book GWT in Action, tells us about the Google Web Toolkit or GWT, a compiler that generates DHTML from sources written in the Java language. GWT aims to simplify writing AJAX applications, much like OpenLaszlo does, but using a programming model that's already familiar to Java programmers. GWT frees programmers from having to worry about web browser dependencies and from addressing them manually. (Click here to view if you can't see the video.) Chapter 2 (PDF) and Chapter 10 (PDF) of GWT in Action are available for review. Robert and co-author Adam Tacy felt that this extract provides the most benefit to new developers trying GWT without having to buy the book. Robert also provided a mother lode of examples in his web site. Watch other Tech Briefs

Threaded Messages (45)

2. Although I have never done any GWT before, I think there is a big problem with code generators like it. Although you can develop the software in a nice IDE with standard, well established languages like Java, you have to debug production problems by digging through generated code, Javascript in the case of GWT. Also, the fact that most logic is running on the browser makes it even harder to track down problems, especially those that are not easy to reproduce. Javascript doesn't allow any logging, so you as the developer is stuck with what the user tells you, without much visibility into what happened in the code.
  3. Although I have never done any GWT before, I think there is a big problem with code generators like it. Although you can develop the software in a nice IDE with standard, well established languages like Java, you have to debug production problems by digging through generated code, Javascript in the case of GWT.