97 Things Every Software Architect Should Know

Discussions

News: 97 Things Every Software Architect Should Know

1. 97 Things Every Software Architect Should Know (35 messages)

It's rumoured to be difficult to get a software architect to put something down on paper but imagine the getting 50 or so of them to write something creative. Last week after many months of effort and at least 2 wikis later O'Reilly published "97 Things Every Software Architect Should Know". The book is the collective contribution of technical architects from all over the world working across the full range of domains. For more details please check out the wiki: http://97-things.near-time.net/wiki The book is now available on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Things-Every-Software-Architect-Should/dp/059652269X/ -John- [Editor: Thanks, John. It would be great if someone would do a book review on this.]

Threaded Messages (35)

2. Highly pleased with the result[ Go to top ]

As a contributing author, I'm proud to be part of this project. I've been perusing over my co-authors' entries this week, and have used more than one in communicating challenges and prinicpals of software architecture to clients and peers. This book does a good job of capturing the types of insight that rarely lend themselves to conference presentations, white papers, and traditional software books; the content is more along the lines of memorable, "off-the-record" hallway conversations at conferences. Thanks again to Richard Monson-Haefel and Mike Loukides for heading up the effort and for taking a courageous and innovative risk on a new kind of software book that I believe practitioners of the craft will appreciate.
  3. I'm pleased[ Go to top ]