Discussions

Web tier: servlets, JSP, Web frameworks: i am new to je22. want to build a web app. how should i start?

1. hi I am a Sun Certified Java Programmer. I have a passion for java. now I want to learn further. I want to build a java web application. my project will be a School automation system. the application will contain following features: 1)student record 2)Employee record 3)Library management 4)Result processing 5)Management reporting tool etc. I admit that i am a novice to j2ee, I don't have any project experience & i don't know how to start with at all. what are the steps that should be followed to build the project? what technologies should i learn & in which sequence? which IDE to use? we've a group but don't know how to distribute tasks :( could anyone please help me out?? i need help desperately.
  2. hi, I hope you have good knowledge of html. Then its better to start from simple JSP and Servlet web application with Tomcat web container. Develop your understand first in these two technology b/c these are the basics of J2EE. Then next step should be use JDBC with JSP/servlet for database related operations. In my opinion you should use Eclipse IDE for development. Because it is rich, easy to use and have ability to integrate third party plug-ins. And its FREE !! As your project nature concern, i will also recommend to use some framework, which help you to maintain your project consistency. Like Struts for MVC and Hibernate for database manipulation.
  3. thanks a lot brother. since i had already started studying jsp & servlet, when i come to minimum understanding about them, what should i do next? should i start designing the database? again, how much do i have to know about jsp servlet so that i can move further? could u plz share with ur experience?
  4. IMHO[ Go to top ]