Discussions

General J2EE: How to apply the Pattern concept to design a login process?

1. Hi all,
      I am a J2EE pattern novice. I have read some introduction articles. In my unstanding, patterns a proven solution to a recurring design problem. So, does it mean that if now I am going to design an internet shopping system, there are some design patterns for me to follow?
      On the other hands, when designing the login process of that system (use JSP/Servlet as View, EJB as Business Logic, and access the user login data by DAO....), then how to apply the concept of Pattern on it?? or there are some patterns talking about a login process?? Could anyone tell me how to find those examples?
      Finally, I afraid that if I was misunstanding the concept of pattern design and ask those stupid questions. I hope that someone can kindly to tell me the answers .
      Thanks very much.

Keith

2. I think it is best to delegate authenticaton and authorization to the appserver rather than taking up things in your own hands. restrict access to you'r checkout pages in the deployment descripto, if you are using an MVC model with a Servlet request dispatcher (command model), simply have another alias of the servlet handle the checkout portion. this way you donot have to write a authentication and authorzation logic in your code.
  3. Hi Keith,

You are partially correct in that design patterns are meant to solve common design problems that arise - but not on the scale you are thinking. Generally speaking, the patterns, if taken individually, would not necessarily apply to "an internet shopping system" as a whole, or even as a login process as a whole. Instead, the design patterns would help you in certain aspects of designing your system...which would, in turn, have an impact on the overall system design.