Evaluate Weigh the pros and cons of technologies, products and projects you are considering.

A step-by-step how to delete a GitHub repository tutorial

When the software development process comes to an end, and the application of interest needs to be decommissioned, you may find yourself in a situation where you need to delete a GitHub repository.

Repository deletion isn’t an onerous tasks, but GitHub does make you jump through a minor hoop or two to accomplish the task. After all, it shouldn’t be so easy to delete a GitHub repository that it might possibly happen by accident. But it’s not that difficult either. Just be sure that if you want to delete a GitHub repo that you’re prepared to enter the Danger Zone.

Steps to delete a GitHub repo

delete GitHub repo steps

The section to delete a GitHub repo is literally called the Danger Zone

The eight steps involved in the deletion of a GitHub repository are:

  1. Ensure you have logged into the GitHub admin console
  2. Navigate to the Repositories tag
  3. Select the repository you wish to delete
  4. Click on the Settings tab
  5. Move down to the Danger Zone section page
  6. Click the Delete this repository option
  7. Type in the name of the repository in the challenge box
  8. Click the Delete button

Post GitHub repository deletion tasks

It’s worth nothing that when you delete a GitHub repo through the Admin console, it is no Git clean up on any of the developer or DevOps professionals’s machines. However, any attempts to push or pull to the GitHub repository URL of the deleted repo will fail with a repository not found error. To delete a user’s instance of a GitHub repository would require a manual deletion of all of the associated files and folders on a user’s physical machine as well.

Start the conversation

Send me notifications when other members comment.

Please create a username to comment.

-ADS BY GOOGLE

SearchAppArchitecture

SearchSoftwareQuality

SearchCloudComputing

SearchSecurity

SearchAWS

Close