News Stay informed about the latest enterprise technology news and product updates.

How to create and delete GitLab projects with examples

After a developer locally installs GitLab or signs up for a membership with the cloud-based offering, their first order of business will be to create a GitLab project. But developers can also delete a GitLab project if they choose.

Here we demonstrate how to easily create and delete GitLab projects.

Project facets

The project is the artifact through which GitLab organizes all the artifacts it provides. That not only includes the Git repository with which you create branches and tag code, but other DevOps tools including:

  • User management
  • Usage analytics
  • Operational logs
  • Kubernetes integration
  • Issue management
  • Merge request notification
  • GitFlow branch creation
  • Feature branch deletion

How to create a GitLab project

Fortunately, it’s relatively straightforward to create a GitLab project. Simply choose the New Project option under the Projects menu at the top of the screen and a one-page wizard will walk you through the process. Project attributes include:

Create GitLab Project Result

Create a GitLab project and various management options will appear.

When the required attributes are filled out, click the Create Project button and a variety of project management and DevOps tools will become available. The tool most central to continuous development and integration is the Git repository itself.

GitLab create project wizard

GitLab provides a project creation wizard.

Post GitLab project creation tasks

After the GitLab project is created, administrators and maintainers will typically want to:

  • Add users and assign privileges
  • Create branches to support GitFlow or your custom branch management strategy
  • Create continuous integration jobs
  • Configure workflow pipelines
  • Set up alerts
  • Make entries in the GitLab project Wiki

How to delete a GitLab project

Developers shouldn’t take it lightly when they delete a GitLab project. After an administrator deletes a GitLab project, all associated resources are permanently deleted and cannot be restored.

To delete a GitLab project, click the Expand button in the Advanced section of the General Project Settings tab. The last option on the page is a red button that says Remove Project. Click this button and type in the name of the project to see all associated resources permanently deleted from the server.

The source code and sample project used for these examples can be found on the gitlab-made-easy project page on GitLab.

remove GitLab project delete

How to delete and remove a GitLab project

 

 

 

 

Join the conversation

2 comments

Send me notifications when other members comment.

Please create a username to comment.

One of the other problems with collaboration apps that work offline is that you can't see updates to the threads while you're offline. For example, Google Docs supports offline 100%, complete with comments. I can access a doc offline, I can see comments.. I can even add comments. Then when I reconnect, it merges in my comments with everything else. Problem is if other people commented in the meantime, I might look like an idiot because my comment was merged back in out of context.

My point is that even if the app TECHNICALLY supports offline sync, from the PRACTICAL standpoint it may not be (or may never be) possible. The only solution is like you mention.. more wireless, less offline. :)
Cancel
Vendors seem to assume that web access is always there and always unlimited - which leads to a lot of frustration as an offline or badly connected user. At Repstor we are making collaboration and content systems available like Outlook email - fully featured on or offline, without the user having to think about network connections. Multi-user updates are still an issue - but synchronization is getting better, and these can be managed. The real key is keeping it easy and pain-free for the user.
Cancel

SearchAppArchitecture

SearchSoftwareQuality

SearchCloudComputing

SearchSecurity

SearchAWS

Close