Discussions

General J2EE: Learning J2EE...best method(s)?

1. Learning J2EE...best method(s)? (1 messages)

Hi all,

I'm new to TheServerSide.com and relatively new to J2EE. I've written one J2EE app at a previous job (actually, it was working at Sun of all places :-) ). However it was a learn-as-you-go type project and I definitely made many design blunders along the way.

I graduated from college with a CS degree 6 months ago, and I'm 22. I have decided on J2EE architect/developer as a career path long-term.

My main question is, what sorts of techniques did some of you experts use to learn J2EE effectively? How do you decide which technologies are the most important to learn?

Sometimes I get overwhelmed with this stuff. I sometimes fotget that I'm still very young and have plenty of time to learn this stuff.

Any input is appreciated....

Thanks!

Joe A
  2. Learning J2EE...best method(s)?[ Go to top ]

Here is what I would advise.

First, decide what kind of client technology you are interesting in building: web clients or GUI clients. The two have very different development paradigms. Given that you are interested in J2EE, I am guessing you want to do web development.

Get some good books on Java web development. My two favorites are Core Java Servlets and JSP and More Java Servlets and JSP, by Marty Hall. These books have a pretty good coverage of the essentials. Get a copy of the reference implementation (Tomcat) and work on some code.

Next, decide which, if any, web framework you are interested in using. Struts is the oldest and most popular, but is definitely showing its age. You might look at Webworks and Tapestry as well. Many organizations use home grown frameworks, so you may not get a choice here.