Discussions

EJB design: ESB for Internal/Intranet Applications in an Organization

1. Hi All,

I am new to ESB world and trying to see if ESB (Servicemix like) is the right candidate for our enterprise applications integration requirements. I posted this on Logicblaze forums and no body from Logicblaze/users answered this question. Hoping serverside users will help me in making a decision. My scenario is as follows.

1) We have couple of applications developed by different vendors and they need to be integrated with in Same Enterprise.

2) These applications belongs to the same Organization but they will be deployed to different JVM's on different J2EE Containers (OC4J) but may be on the same Application Server (Oracle AS 10g), in a clustered environment.

3) We would like to have minimum impact on performance due to integration of these applications (90 % of them are J2EE applications).

4) We would like the integration technology/ESB to take care of transactions and security if possible.

I prefer to go with any ESB,but my biggest concern is performance. I am thinking that , JBI need WSDL to be declared for every service.

My perception is that ESB(Servicemix) converts/serializes the Java Objects into XML and transports the data. This may have performance implications if used in my scenario (Application Integration with in same Organization and sitting on same Physical location).

Can any one suggest alternatives or if ESB(Servicemix) suits my requirements, how will it address my concern of Performance,transaction,security etc..

And I am wondering if Servicemix provides RMI/EJB bindings through dynamic stubs etc good features to address the performance issues for integrating applications with-in organization (I know ESB,Servicemix is pure JBI implementation).

Thanks in advance
    Giri Kosuru.
  2. Does any one know how to move this posting to General J2EE forum?

Thanks
    Giri Kosuru