REST vs. WS-*, a Parable

Discussions

News: REST vs. WS-*, a Parable

1. REST vs. WS-*, a Parable (37 messages)

Elliotte Rusty Harold has written "REST vs. WS-*: a Parable," discussing the differences in approach between REST and - for lack of a better term - traditional Web services, represented by the multitude of W3C specifications. In it, he uses a protagonist who represents REST, as the simple, can-do protocol, and sees WS-* as being overcomplicated and requiring endless maintenance.
    Hi there. My name’s Rusty, and I’m an air conditioning tech. I’m not a rocket scientist, but I know how to wield an electronic screwdriver and recharge the freon in a unit. Lately I’ve taken a job with Roy’s Environmental Systems Technology. It sounds impressive, but really it’s just another air conditioning and heating company, nothing cutting edge, nothing fancy. We mostly just call it REST.

Lately, however, we’ve been losing business to a newcomer in town, and I’m not quite sure why. A couple of years ago Water Supply-Strategic Tactical Air Recycling (WS-STAR) opened up a branch in our town. WS-* (as my IM crazy kids would type) came about from the merger of Secure Operations Air and Power (SOAP) with Expert Machine Lubrication: Radiators, Power, and Cooling (XML-RPC).
    Highly enjoyable reading, and worth some thought when one is considering WS-* against REST - although it should be added that sometimes, you really do want the full WS-* stack, despite its potential complexity.

Threaded Messages (37)

2. REST vs. WS-*, a Parable[ Go to top ]

WS-* presumes SOAP and involves providing many declarative services to an internet messaging environment. I would be interested in seeing scenarios where these things are also accomplished using REST (e.g. transactions, security, policy, etc.)
  3. REST vs. WS-*, a Parable[ Go to top ]